When trying to delete a content type from SharePoint Designer you might run into following funny error message:

Could not save changes. The Content type is in use.

You need to check:

  • This content type is not being referenced by a list or document library
  • This content type is not being referenced by a list or document library that’s in End User Recycle bin
  • This content type is not being referenced by a list or document library that’s in Site Collection Recycle bin
  • If content type was deployed via feature you need to retract it

Leave a Reply