How to enable alternate languages in Office365

Yesterday Microsoft announced Office365 (trial) availability in 22 additional countries (including Croatia :)).

This blog post explains what you need to do in order to enable additional languages for the SharePoint site hosted in the Office365 environment:

  • Open your team site via browser.
  • Click on the Site Actions > Site Settings.
    SharePoint Site Settings - Office365
  • Navigate to the Site Administration > Language Settings.
  • Specify the alternate language(s) that this site will support
    Currently Office365 supports: Arabic, Basque, Bulgarian, Catalan, Chinese – Simplified, Chinese – Traditional, Croatian, Czech, Danish, Dutch, Estonian, Finnish, French, Galician, German, Greek, Hebrew, Hindi, Hungarian, Italian, Japanese, Kazakh, Korean, Latvian, Lithuanian, Norwegian, Polish, Portuguese, Portuguese – Brazilian, Romanian, Russian, Serbian – Latin, Slovak, Slovenian, Spanish, Swedish, Thai, Turkish, Ukrainian
  • Click OK.
  • From the User Settings menu, choose the desired language you want to use.
    User Settings > Change Language in Office365 - SharePoint

That’s it, your SharePoint site is now displayed in your desired language (the figure shows it in Croatian)